Jeff Anderson aka the “muscle nerd” – just another scam artist?

Posted: October 11, 2016 in Program Reviews

Back in 2008 bodybuilding e-books were all the rage just at a time where I was first learning about the subject.

One or two were great (like Tom Venuto’s) and many were garbage (like Vince Del Monte’s). 

There was one that was getting a lot of hype called Optimum Anobolics by Jeff Anderson who also called himself “the muscle nerd”. I picked up the program and what I found was a very easy-to-read manual laying out a very promising philosophy. Here it is in a nutshell: there are 8 muscle “factors” the main one being to overtrain and then super-compensate via 3 weeks of incrementally increased volume followed but three weeks of lower volume. There is a hierarchy of exercises that vary in effectiveness starting with isolation machines being the least effective to body weight being the most effective.

My results on this program were not what I had hoped for, but it was so long ago that now it’s difficult for me to truly account for what the actual problem was.

Fast forward to fall 2016 – I was in a dispute with Greg O’Ghallagher and his entourage about exercise form – my position being that exercise form is of the utmost importance, theirs being that it is if little importance. While looking for material that would support either my claim or theirs, I stumbled upon a manual written by Leo Costa and Dr Russ Horine back in 1998.

Obviously my first takeaway was that they agreed with me on the form issue, but then the further I read on, many of the concepts seemed familiar… eerily so – it was almost as if I had read this exact same manual in someone else’s words… that’s when I remembered Jeff Anderson’s program. I pulled out Jeff’s program from my old files and sure enough – the similarities are too striking to ignore…
Both of them list the same “8 factors” for muscle growth, they both have 3-weeks of increasingly high volume followed by 3 weeks of lower volume adaptation. They both even have virtually the same hierarchy of exercise movements.

I tried to get in touch with Jeff to ask about this – but he is totally off the grid. In fact I thought perhaps he was dead or something. The only thing I could find was a personal Facebook page, which, aside from a couple publicity pictures had some not-particularly flattering picture of him.  Now I’m no one to criticize someone falling from the grace of physical fitness due to Father Time, but I’ll admit that when I saw one of his pictures(below) in which he was looking a bit chunky at an internet marketing convention I began to feel that the naive, trusting me of many years ago had been scammed.
anderson

I reached out to a couple of the sites he used to contribute to and even sent him a friendly message on Facebook, but neither he, nor the websites he once wrote for wanted to respond to my questions of the similarities of these two programs.

Graciously Jeff’s programs don’t seem to be available anymore, whereas Big Beyond Belief is on amazon – albeit for a pretty steep price tag. That being said, I can’t speak to the effectiveness of it as I only did Jeff’s variation many years ago.

Jeff, it would seem has been replaced now by the likes of O’Gallagher, yet it makes me really nervous thinking that he is still out there lurking online using who-knows-what pseudonym selling who-knows-what – very possibly following the footsteps of such world class douches as Eben Pagan.

Update: while it seems Jeff has left the world of fitness e-book writing, a colleague found his current website in which he claims to be a master of “combat” and a “survivalist”, making no mention of his previous claims of being a master fitness guru – as much as I hate to plug the guy it is actually really funny in a cringe-worthy way: http://www.moderncombatandsurvival.com/

Leave a Reply

