Keeping Fit while living your life

Posted: December 2, 2015 in Fat Burning, fitness

Maybe it’s just that I’m getting older or maybe it’s a shift in my mindset, but since getting a nasty shoulder injury my ability to train slowed to a crawl and time that used to be spent at the gym became filled with other activities and projects.

So now that my shoulder is getting better and I want to get back into shape, the challenge is becoming trying to continue those projects while increasing the time given to physical activity.

That is not as simple as it may sound because I have always been an “all or nothing” person.

And then a light-bulb went off and lady inspiration blessed me with a fantastic idea: create a personal reward system where fitness achievements and activities are rewarded by allowing myself to do the other projects.

Step 1 in this process was to see where I am physically and determine where I WANT to be.

In “Burn the Fat Feed the Muscle” Tom Venuto points out that the reason the majority of fitness programs fail from the the outset is that there is no defined goals programmed into your subconscious – making this a key to re-igniting the passion to get fit.

Step 2 was to make a list of all of the non-fitness-related projects I wanted to work on, and everything that was holding me back (in my mind) from dedicating the needed time to fitness.

Step 3 was to pair those with various accomplishments or simply activities that would earn the permission to do these tasks.

Additionally I made a list of non-healthy foods I live and made heathy, delicious substitutions.

One of the challenges when beginning a new regimen is sticking to the plan, so I was hesitant to post this without having seen it all the way through. My hope is that by combining multiple passions and making them work together I will overcome the hurdle of “perseverance”.

Leave a Reply

