Spartan Strength

Posted: March 11, 2014 in fitness, fun
Tags: , , , ,

It is mid-march (the ides are upon us) and since the kids are in a break from school I took them to the local wave pool the other day.

A lot of parents seemed to have the same idea. It truly felt like I was only guy there who was in decent physical condition. Yet I’m sure I’m not the only gym rat that was there.

With the new 300 movie recently released, I think an interest in getting in great shape will re-emerge, but I dot think a lot of people know how to actually get a Spartan physique.

As an aside, I should mention that I was far more excited by the first movie since I was already a Gerard Butler fan when the first one came out, but I really knew nothing of Sullivan Stapleton prior to his 300: Rise of an Empire role.

Crappy workouts based on the first 300 movie have popped up all over the place in the last few years, so what I’m going to do is give a realistic idea of what getting a body like that requires.

Essentially the physique they created was that of a bodybuilder, meaning having above average muscle mass while also being extremely lean. Accomplishing this is a task that can only be accomplished by paying strict attention to the details of your diet and training.

Now is actually the perfect time to start getting into summer time spartan shape!

Step 1: determine how many calories you require (TDEE)

Step 2: create a moderate caloric deficit (about 85%) and stick to this 5 days per week with 2 days slightly above TDEE, making sure to have protein with every meal.

Step 3: perform hypertrophy style training (8-12 reps) 3-5 times per week. Make sure to have a well-designed split that will get the most out of your muscles and use proper form for everything.

Step 4: include cardio training 3-6 times per week.

If you are able to manage these guidelines successfully you will have overcome a huge hurdle few have.

For more specific training and dietary programs to both build muscle and get shredded, you can check out my new book: Superhero Physique!

One other BONUS STEP I’ll suggest is something in my book is what I refer to as the “Hero”a breakfast” which is designed to give you energy all day long and help build muscle and raise your metabolism, so on that note I quote:
“Spartans….ready your breakfast and eat hearty; for tonight we done in hell!”

Please join me on facebook.

Related:
Man of Steel: Building a physique like Henry Cavill’s Superman

Superhero Physique
superhero_physique by Shawn Buffington

Leave a Reply

