Back Attack

Posted: October 24, 2013 in fitness, Muscle Building
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

back
The Back is one of those unglamorous body parts that I’ve never developed well enough for my liking, yet when you see someone with a muscular back they immediately command respect and admiration, and set themselves apart from the rest of the casual gym-goers.

Of course as soon as I dedicated myself to focusing on my back development, I quickly learned that there are reasons why it is such a hard area to enhance that goes beyond the fact that it can sometimes be neglected.

  • it is harder to feel than most other parts, and thus harder to stimulate
  • it has several muscles, each of which have different functions. due to the amount of functions the back has, it is hard to adequately stimulate all of these
  • My plan of attack was to specifically address both of these with my training protocol.

    The first, and most important thing I do is do a 4-day back split worked in with my other body parts. It looks like this:
    Day 1: Chest & rows
    Day 2: Quads & calves
    Day 3: delts & lats
    Day 4: hams & lower back
    Day 5: arms & traps

    This split has been serving me well, but in order to get the most out of the back exercises I really strive to feel the muscle working early in the workout. For me this is best done by carefully choosing the first back exercise of the day.

  • On the rowing day I do a variation of a one-arm db row I came up with, where I add a slight inward rotation and scapula squeeze at the top.
  • On lower back day some heavy deadlifts do the trick nicely.
  • For lat day I like starting with a straight-arm pulldowns.
  • On trap day I like to perform high-rep overhead barbell shrugs.
  • Since I’ve been doing this split, I’ve seen noticeable improvement in my back development. But I’ve also needed a lot of massage work and been told that my back feels like a slab of tough meat. I’ll take that as a compliment!

    Related: How I gained an Inch on my Arms

    Comments
    1. […] a few articles you can start with: Isolating compound movements Shoulders Chest Arms Arms II Back Back II Legs (overall) Quads Glutes/hamstrings Nutritional […]

    Leave a Reply

    