2013 contest cut – week 12

Posted: September 3, 2013 in 2013 cut, fitness

photo
Week 12 was a huge week in term of closing in on my goals for a multitude of reasons…

One of the great breakthroughs came when my friend Clare pointed me towards one of Brian Tracy’s programs. He talked about the fact that it is impossible to exceed our own expectations for ourselves. This really motivated me to push myself in the gym, both in terms of telling myself I could do one rep more than usual, and actually performing that rep despite being in excruciating pain. It has also been helpful from the standpoint of re-establishing my short-term goals, which is bound to help in the coming weeks as well.

I also made a big change in my diet, taking out whey and replacing it with white fish (mainly tilapia). I also tried to take out most of the artificial sweeteners, including BCAAs, meaning I’m taking them in pill form now.

One of the other things I’ve been implementing is cold showers. I began this a week or two ago, but I’ve been gradually building up the amount of time I spend in the cold shower. I got to 90 seconds this week.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a massage so I got in with my therapist for a once-over. In the process she mentioned that my forearms and calves were a bit out of proportion, which I actually appreciated. Even though I won’t be able to bring them up in the last two weeks I’ll at least try to balance it out a bit.

This has also been a week of trying to get tanned, which is always a challenge for a guy as white as me, but I’ve actually been having a bit of success with this which will hopefully make my typical protocol of sunless tanning at least not quite as necessary.

Finally. I really killed it in the gym this week, working out at least two times per day counting cardio, and sometimes as much as 4 times. It is a bit of overkill, but this is the time when I need to do that.

Leave a Reply

