My quest for cannonball shoulders

Posted: July 1, 2012 in fitness

To me a set of big round shoulders separates the boys from men when it comes to the male form, and unfortunately for me it’s not one of those body parts that likes to grow, so it’s time for me to figure out why and then do something about it!

The first thing was to assess myself, which in this case meant looking at everything around my shoulders to try to get hints as to why they might not be activating efficiently. I quickly realized that my triceps are fairly well developed, almost to the point of being disproportionate. That tells me that I need to really focus no taking my tris out of the equation, probably by fully extending my arms for shoulder moves when possible.

Next I will be personalizing some of Ben Pakulski’s principles in a few ways…

  1. I’ll be using his 21-day arm routine except instead of specializing my arms, it’ll be training shoulders 2-3 times per week.
  2. My focus of each move will begin with:
  • contracting the delt then initiating with it
  • keeping it under constant tension or “fighting the flex” as I’ve recently heard the concept called.
  • moving through a full range of motion with the tempo and reps dependent upon my desired time under tension

Because I’m pairing this up with strength training, the training days will look something like this:

Day 1: Shoulder routine 1 – straight sets

Day 2: Chest (Wave loading), arms

Day 3: off

Day 4: Shoulder routine 2 – Giant sets, first with cables then with barbell

Day 5: Legs (wave loading), arms

Day 6: Off

Day 7: Shoulder Routine 3 – 6-12-25 method

and so on…

Hopefully this is a good approach to improving me shoulders, time will tell…

Leave a Reply

